Spring Term 2022-23

The current Faculty of Arts and Sciences (FAS) Academic Calendars are located at https://registrar.fas.harvard.edu/academic-calendar.

Spring Term 2022-23

October 17, 2022, Monday

  • FAS Course Registration (Crimson Cart) opens for graduate students - add courses to the Crimson Cart.

January 4, Wednesday

  • Spring term Online Check-In opens for undergraduate students.
  • Spring term Online Check-In opens for graduate students.

January 9, Monday

  • FAS Course Registration (Crimson Cart) opens for undergraduate students - add courses to the Crimson Cart.

January 11, Wednesday

  • Online Check-In must be completed for undergraduate and graduate students. Students who fail to Check-In online will be charged a late Check-In fee.
  • FAS Course Registration opens for graduate and undergraduate students to allow enrolling in courses.

January 16, Monday

  • University Holiday: Martin Luther King Day.

January 17, Tuesday

  • Approved graduate student dissertations due for March 2023 degree candidates.

January 18, Wednesday through January 20, Friday  (tentative)

 January 19, Thursday

  • Course Registration Deadline - Spring term course registrations are due for all students by 11:59 PM. Students must submit minimum course load - typically 16 credits - on my.harvard by 11:59 PM and submitting enrollment after this time will result in a fee.
  • May Dissertation submission deadline  (cancelled health insurance).

January 23, Monday

  • Spring term begins.

January 30, Monday

  • After this date students must obtain permission from all instructors to enroll in spring courses. 

February 6, Monday (3rd Monday)

  • Last day that undergraduates may drop or add any course without a fee.
  • Last day that graduate students may drop or add a spring course without a fee.

February 7, Tuesday

  • Faculty meeting at 3:00 PM.

February 20, Monday

  • University Holiday: Presidents’ Day. No classes held.

February 21, Tuesday, moved due to holiday (Fifth Monday)

  • Last day that undergraduates may drop or add a spring course or change the grade status of a letter-graded or Pass/Fail course.
  • Last day students from other schools may file cross-registration petitions for spring term with the FAS Registrar's Office. Note some schools have earlier deadlines.

March 6, Monday (7th Monday)

  • Last day that graduate students may add (or enroll in) spring term courses. To add a course after this date an approved Petition to Add must be submitted.
  • Last day that graduate students may add or change SAT/UNS grading option for designated language courses.

March 7, Tuesday

  • Faculty meeting at 3:00 PM.
  • Conferral date for March 2023 degrees.

March 11, Saturday through March 19, Sunday 

  • Spring Recess.

March 20, Monday (9th Monday)

  • Last day that graduate students may drop a spring course. To withdraw from a spring course after this date an approved Petition to Withdraw must be submitted and a notation of WD will be recorded.

April 3, Monday (11th Monday)

  • Undergraduate (A.B. and S.B.) and graduate (A.M., S.M., M.E., MFS, and Ph.D.) student applications for May 2023 degrees must be submitted on or before this date.
  • Last day to change concentration for May and November 2023 degree candidates without Administrative Board approval.
  • Last day that May and November 2023 undergraduate degree candidates (A.B. and S.B.) may file a foreign language citation study plan or petition for a secondary field.
  • Graduate student application for secondary field due for May 2023 degree candidates.
  • Last day upon which undergraduates may petition to withdraw from a spring term or year-long course.

April 4, Tuesday

  • Faculty meeting at 3:00 PM.

April 13, Thursday

  • Declaration of Concentration due for third semester undergraduates.

 April 26, Wednesday

  • Last day of spring term classes.

April 27, Thursday, through May 3, Wednesday

  • Reading Period.

May 2, Tuesday

  • Faculty meeting at 3:00 PM.

May 3, Wednesday

  • Last day in the spring term that graduate students may submit approved petition to withdraw from a spring course and a notation of WD will be recorded.

May 4, Thursday, through May 13, Saturday (Sunday not included)

May 11, Thursday

  • Approved graduate dissertations due for May 2023 degree candidates.

May 13, Saturday

  • Last day that graduate students may submit work for incomplete grades from the fall 2022 term.

May 22, Monday

  • Degree Meeting; Faculty vote May 2023 degrees at 4:30 PM.

May 25, Thursday

  • Harvard University Commencement.

May 29, Monday

  • University Holiday: Memorial Day.

August 29, Tuesday and August 30, Wednesday (Schedule change)

  • Make-up examinations for spring 2023 term are held.