Spring Term 2020-21

The current Faculty of Arts and Sciences (FAS) Academic Calendars are located at https://registrar.fas.harvard.edu/academic-calendar.

Spring Term 2020-21

January 11, Monday

  • Spring term Online Check-In opens for undergraduate students.

January 19, Tuesday

  • Approved graduated dissertations due for March 2021 degree candidates.

TBD

January 24, Sunday

  • Deadline for graduate students to submit work for Incomplete grades from the spring 2020 term.

January 25, Monday

  • Spring term begins.
  • Online Check-In must be completed for all GSAS students, including Special Students and Visiting Fellows.
  • Online Check-In must be completed for all Harvard College students, including visiting undergraduates.

TBD

  • Course Registration Deadline - Fall term course registrations are due for all students by 11:59pm. Students must submit minimum course load - typically 16 credits - on my.harvard by 11:59pm and submitting enrollment after this time will result in a fee. After this date students must obtain permission from all instructors to enroll in courses.

January 29, Friday

  • Last day upon which undergraduates may check-in/register late for the spring term.
  • Last day upon which graduate students may cancel their registration for the spring term without payment of tuition.
  • Graduate dissertation deadline for May 2021 degree candidates who wish to have spring tuition and Student Health Fee and Student Health Insurance Plan removed from their student account. Students who submit dissertation on or before this date will have health coverage canceled as of January 31, 2021.

February 2, Tuesday

  • Faculty meeting at 3 pm.

February 5, Friday

  • Wellness Day (no classes held)

February 8, Monday (3rd Monday)

  • Last day upon which undergraduates may drop or add any course without a fee.
  • Makeup examinations for fall 2020 term begin.
  • Last day upon which GSAS students may drop a spring course without paying a fee.

February 15, Monday

  • University holiday: Presidents’ Day. No classes held.

TBD

February 22, Monday (Fifth Monday)

  • Last day upon which undergraduates may drop or add a spring course or change the grade status of a letter-graded or Pass/Fail course.
  • Last day students from other schools may file cross-registration petitions for spring term with the FAS Registrar's Office. Note some schools have earlier deadlines.

March 1, Monday

  • Wellness Day (No classes held)

March 2, Tuesday

  • Faculty meeting at 3 pm.
  • Conferral date for March 2021 degrees.

March 8, Monday (7th Monday)

  • Last day upon which graduate students may add (or enroll in) spring term courses. To add a course after this date an approved Petition to Add must be submitted.
  • Last day upon which graduate students may add or change SAT/UNS grading option for designated language courses.

March 16, Tuesday

  • Wellness Day (No classes held)

March 22, Monday (9th Monday)

  • Last day upon which graduate students may drop a spring course. To withdraw from a fall course after this date an approved Petition to Withdraw must be submitted and a notation of WD will be recorded.

March 31, Wednesday

  • Wellness Day (No classes held)

April 1, Thursday

  • Undergraduate (AB and SM) and graduate (AM, SM, ME, MFS, and PhD) student applications for May 2021 degrees must be submitted on or before this date.
  • Last day to change concentration for May 2021 and November 2021 degree candidates without Administrative Board approval.
  • Last day upon which May and November 2021 degree candidates (AB and SB) may file a foreign language citation study plan or petition for a secondary field.
  • Graduate student application for Secondary field due for May 2021 degree candidates.

April 5, Monday (11th Monday)

  • Last day upon which undergraduates may petition to withdraw from a spring term course.

April 6, Tuesday

  • Faculty meeting at 3 pm.

April 8, Thursday

  • Declaration of Concentration due for off-cycle students expected to declare in spring.

April 15, Thursday

  • Wellness Day (No classes held)

April 28, Wednesday

  • Last day of spring term classes.

April 29, Thursday, through May 5, Wednesday

  • Reading Period.

May 4, Tuesday

  • Faculty meeting at 3 pm.

May 5, Wednesday

  • Last day in the spring term upon which graduate students may submit approved Petition to Withdraw from a spring course and a notation of WD will be recorded.

May 6, Thursday, through May 15, Saturday

 

May 13, Thursday

  • Approved graduate dissertations due for May 2021 degree candidates.

May 24, Monday

  • Degree Meeting; Faculty vote May 2021 degrees at 4:30 pm.

May 27, Thursday

  • Harvard University Commencement.

May 31, Monday

  • University holiday: Memorial Day.